MAP Growth Test Description

MAP Growth tests produce both an overall subject score and scores for the instructional areas, also called "goals." Your students can take MAP Growth tests up to four times per academic year.

You can choose from the following tests:

MAP Growth Test (Grade) Approx. Number
of Questions
English Versions

Language 2+

40 to 43 questions

Math (2–5)

40 to 43 questions

Math (6+)

Math for Algebra, Geometry, Integrated Mathematics — see Course-specific tests

40 to 43 questions

Reading (2–5)

40 to 43 questions

Reading (6+)

Science (3–5)


40 to 43 questions

Science (6–8)

Science (9–12)
Biology/Life Science — see Course-specific tests
Spanish Versions
Spanish Math (2–5) 40 to 43 questions
Spanish Math (6+)

Reading (2–5)

40 to 43 questions

Reading (6–8)

Note: Students needing visual assistance can use tests compatible with screen readers, such as JAWS®. Look for the term "Screen Reader Compatible" at the end of the test name. To learn more, see  Accommodations and Accessibility.

Course-specific tests

Students enrolled in applicable courses can take the following course-specific MAP Growth tests up to three times per year:

  • Algebra 1 and 2
  • Geometry
  • Integrated Mathematics 1, 2, and 3
  • Biology/Life Science (for grades 9 to 12)

In the test results, you can use the achievement norms and learning statements like other MAP Growth tests.

Test structures and state standards

The instructional areas of MAP Growth tests vary by state and standard set. For more details see NWEA’s Instructional Areas.